General Synod 2019 Officers of the General Synod

President of Synod Prolocutor Deputy Prolocutor

Chancellor Vice Chancellor Officer-at-Large

Officer-at-Large General Secretary Treasurer The Most Rev. Fred Hiltz, Primate Ms. Cynthia Haines-Turner The Very Rev. Peter Wall (2019) The Rt. Rev. Lynne McNaughton (2016-2019) Canon David P. Jones, Q.C. Canon Ann Bourke Ms. Susan Little (2018-2019) The Rev. Canon Grace Delaney (2016-2018) The Rev. Vincent Solomon The Ven. Dr. Michael Thompson Ms. Hanna Goschy

Sessional Officers and Committees

Sessional Officers:

Secretaries

Rules of order, Part II, Section 5 a)

On nomination of the General Secretary, the Prolocutor shall appoint from the membership of the General Synod an Honorary Clerical Secretary, an Honorary Assistant Clerical Secretary, an Honorary Lay Secretary and an Honorary Assistant Lay Secretary, who shall assist the General Secretary in keeping minutes of the General Synod.

Name

Honorary Clerical Secretary Honorary Assistant Clerical Secretary Honorary Lay Secretary Honorary Assistant Lay Secretary

Diocese/Position Rosalyn Elm Huron Gethin Edward Saskatchewan Chris Wood Saskatoon Margo Hearne Caledonia

Assessors Rules of Order, Part II, Section 5 b)

The Prolocutor shall appoint two or more Assessors to advise the chairperson in respect to points of order and the Constitution and Canons.

Name Clare Burns Alan Perry Karen Webb Ann Bourke Diocese/Position Toronto Edmonton Brandon Ottawa

Sessional Committees:

Rules of Order, Part II, Section 6

The following sessional committees shall, except where otherwise specified, be appointed from the members of the General Synod by the Council of the General Synod in consultation with the Prolocutor:

Agenda Committee

Rules of Order, Part II, Section 6 a)

Agenda Committee - consisting of not more than eight members to be drawn from the members of the General Synod. It shall be the responsibility of the committee to prepare and publish the agenda for each day of the session.

| Name | Diocese/Position |
|--------------------|-----------------------------------|
| Peter Wall (chair) | Niagara |
| Ian Alexander | British Columbia |
| Terry Caines | Central Newfoundland |
| Derrick Bishop | Eastern Newfoundland and Labrador |
| Mel Malton | Nova Scotia and PEI |
| Alison Falby | Toronto |
| Dennis Newhook | Anglican Military Ordinariate |
| | |

Certification of Minutes Committee

Rules of Order, Part II, Section 6 b)

Certification of Minutes Committee - consisting of the General Secretary, the Prolocutor or Deputy Prolocutor, the Honorary Clerical and Lay Secretaries, and a member of the Resolutions Committee. It shall be the responsibility of the committee to certify the accuracy of the minutes of the session of the General Synod.

Name

Michael Thompson Cynthia Haines Turner Alan Perry (crossover member) Rosalyn Elm Gethin Edward Chris Wood Margo Hearne

Diocese/Position

General Secretary Prolocutor Resolutions Committee Honorary Clerical Secretary Honorary Assistant Clerical Secretary Honorary Lay Secretary Honorary Assistant Lay Secretary

Credentials Committee

Rules of Order, Part II, Section 6 c)

Credentials Committee - consisting of the General Secretary, the Prolocutor or Deputy Prolocutor, and one Assessor. It shall be the responsibility of the committee to report to the General Synod on the standing of all persons who claim membership therein, and to advise the chairperson as to a quorum of each Order.

Name

Michael Thompson Peter Wall Clare Burns

Nominating Committee

Rules of Order, Part II, Section 6 d)

Nominating Committee - consisting of one bishop, one clerical member and one lay member from each ecclesiastical province. The committee shall be constituted not later than one month prior to the opening of the General Synod, to receive nominations for standing committees and the Council of the General Synod and to supervise the election process.

| Name Province of Canada | Diocese/Position |
|-----------------------------------|----------------------|
| Bruce Myers (Bishop) | Quebec |
| Karen Egan (Clergy - Chair) | Montreal |
| Larry Renouf (Lay) | Western Newfoundland |
| Province of Ontario | |
| Anne Germond (Bishop) | Algoma |
| Bill Mous (Clergy) | Niagara |
| Haroldine Neil Burchert (Lay) | Ontario |
| Province of Rupert's Land | |
| Bill Cliff (Bishop) | Brandon |
| Murray Still (Clergy) | Rupert's Land |
| Sheila Vanderputten (Lay) | Calgary |
| Province of BC/Yukon | |
| Lynne McNaughton (Bishop) | Kootenay |
| Sarah Usher (Clergy) | Yukon |
| Catherine Pate (Lay) | British Columbia |

Diocese/Position General Secretary Deputy Prolocutor Assessor

Resolutions Committee

Rules of Order, Part II, Section 6 e)

Resolutions Committee - consisting of up to eight members, one of whom shall be an Assessor, and with at least one bishop, one clerical and one lay member. It shall be the responsibility of the committee to receive resolutions from members of the General Synod and prepare them for submission in accordance with guidelines approved from time to time by the Council of the General Synod.

Name

Alan Perry (Chair) Susan Bell Vicki Townson Randall Fairey

Diocese/Position Assessor Niagara Athabasca Kootenay

Expenditures Committee:

Rules of Order, Part II, Section 6 f)

Expenditures Committee - consisting of members appointed by the Primate and the Prolocutor in consultation with the chairperson of the Financial Management Committee. It shall be the responsibility of the committee to implement Rule of Order 15 with respect to spending motions for which sources of funds have not been identified prior to the General Synod session.

Name

Paul Rathbone (Chair) Barbara Andrews Geoffrey Hall Clara Plamondon Monique Stone Rob Dickson

Respectfully submitted, Cynthia Haines Turner, Prolocutor Diocese/Position

Huron Territory of the People Fredericton British Columbia Ottawa New Westminster

Revised July 9, 2019